Kunstpilgerreise 2

In autumn 2015 Marinka Limat started her second “Kunstpilgerreise”. She walked from Murten in Switzerland to Venice in Italy for the Biennale 2015. On her way there she visited more than 80 art institutions and questioned them about the capital of art.

For the destination of her second “Kunstpilgerreise”, Marinka Limat chose the 56th Venice Biennale. Every second year since 1895, this has made Venice the international capital of the contemporary art scene. This was also the focus of the question Marinka Limat put to institutions and artists on the way: “What is the capital of the arts?” She took the answers with her, sewn into her pilgrim’s garb, and recited them on 21st November, 2015, at the entrance to the Giardini.

 

The challenge posed by the second Kunstpilgerreise involved crossing the Alps by the Via Francigena, (the St Francis Way) over the Great St Bernard Pass, late in the year and in uncertain weather conditions. Then there was the language: at the beginning of her journey, Marinka Limat’s command of Italian was not good. Nonetheless she was able to carry out her plan to find a local artist, each time that she stopped to pitch her tent for the night.

 

In addition, the journey through Northern Italy made clear for Marinka Limat the parallels between art and religion: both are hard to grasp, but marked by set rituals and structures. They go beyond understanding and touch something deeper. Something which binds. Even if you don’t speak the same language.

KPR-2: Murten, CHVenice, IT, 832 km, 41 days, 2015

Kunstpilgerreise 2 lasted from 28th September to 9th November, 2015. The journey led across the Alps, over the Great St Bernard Pass, through the Aosta and Piedmont valleys, and towards Venice via the plains of the River Po.

Impressionen

Traces

  • Footage

    Marinka Limat recorded also her second „Kunstpilgerreise“ as a video travel diary. The material contains some key moments of the journey: the encounters with the artists and impressions of the march through the Alps and northern Italy. It may be edited at a later date.

    Info

    Music: Anton Bruhin (jew’s harp), Jacky Lagger (guitar, vocals)
    Editing: Cornelia Albrecht

     

  • Pilgrim's garb

    Pilgrim's garb

    Pilgrim's garb with 80 answers to the question "What is the capital of art (worth)?"
  • Pilgrim's hat

    Pilgrim's hat

    The sign „K“ is for Kapital, Kunst, Kreation, Korruption, Kommunikation, etc. (capital/worth, art, creation, corruption, communication)
  • Cardboard

    Cardboard

    Description of the performative aim. Used by the arrival in Venice
  • Mask

    Mask

    A last performance happend at the arrival in Venice. The 80 answers were read to an audience three times. The venetian mask represents this moment
  • Pilgrim's passport

    Pilgrim's passport

    The two notebooks contain the dates, the places and the signatures of over 80 visited center of arts and artists
  • Pilgrim requisits

    Pilgrim requisits

    Pilgrim accessories from KPR-2

Kunstpilgerreise 2

Im Herbst 2015 machte sich Marinka Limat auf den Weg von Murten nach Venedig zur Biennale. Zum roten Faden der Reise über die Alpen und durch Norditalien wurde die Frage: «Was ist das Kapital der Kunst?», welche sie in über 80 Kunststätten und lokalen Kunstschaffenden stellte.

Zum Ziel ihrer zweiten Kunstpilgerreise wählte Marinka Limat die 56. Kunstbiennale in Venedig. Diese macht Venedig seit 1895 zur internationalen Hauptstadt der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene. Darum drehte sich auch die Frage, die Marinka Limat unterwegs den Institutionen und KünstlerInnen stellte: „What’s the capital of the arts?“ („Was ist das Kapital/die Hauptstadt der Kunst?“). Die Antworten trug die Performerin in ihr Pilgergewand eingeheftet nach Venedig und trug sie dort am 21. November 2015 beim Eingang zu den Giardini vor.

 

Die Herausforderung der zweiten Kunstpilgerreise war die Überquerung der Alpen auf der Via Francigena (Franziskanerweg) über den grossen St. Bernhardpass, bei fortgeschrittener Jahreszeit und unsicheren Witterungsverhältnissen. Dazu kam die fremde Sprache: Marinka Limat war beim Reisestart des Italienischen nicht mächtig. Dennoch konnte sie ihren Plan umsetzen, bei jedem Halt für die Zeltübernachtung eine/n lokale/n Künstler/in ausfindig zu machen. 

 

Die Reise durch Norditalien verdeutlichte Marinka Limat ausserdem die Parallelen zwischen Kunst und Religion: Beide sind vom Menschen geschaffene Systeme, die etwas schwer fassbar greifbar machen wollen. Sie sind beide geprägt von festen Ritualen und Strukturen, sie übersteigen den Verstand und berühren etwas Tieferes. Etwas, das verbindet. Auch wenn man nicht dieselbe Sprache spricht.

KPR-2: Murten, CHVenice, IT, 832 km, 41 Tage, 2015

Die Kunstpilgerreise 2 dauerte vom 28. September bis zum 09. November 2015. Die Route führe über den Grossen St. Bernhard und das Aostatal durch die Alpen, und durch das Piemont und die Po-Ebene bis nach Venedig.

Impressionen

Spuren

  • Filmmaterial

    Auch die Kunstpilgerreise 2 hielt Marinka Limat in einem filmischen Reisetagebuch fest. Das Material beinhaltet Schlüsselmomente der Reise: die Begegnungen mit den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern und Eindrücke vom Fussmarsch durch die Alpen und das herbstliche Norditalien. Es soll allenfalls zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt verarbeitet werden.

    Info

    Musik: Anton Bruhin (Maultrommel), Jacky Lagger (Gitarre, Stimme)
    Schnitt: Cornelia Albrecht

  • Pilgermantel

    Pilgermantel

    Im Mantel aufbewahrt sind 80 Antworten auf die Frage «Was ist das Kapital der Kunst?»
  • Pilgerhut

    Pilgerhut

    Das Zeichen „K“ steht für Kapital, Kunst, Kreation, Korruption, Kommunikation, usw.
  • Karton

    Karton

    Beschreibung des Performance Vorhabens. Verwendet bei der Ankunft in Venedig
  • Maske

    Maske

    Bei der Ankunft in Venedig fand eine letzte Performance statt. Die 80 gesammelten Antworten wurden drei Mal vorgetragen. Die venezianische Maske hält diesen Moment fest.
  • Pilgerpass

    Pilgerpass

    Die zwei Heften enthalten die Daten, Orte, Unterschriften der 80 besuchten Kunst-, Kulturinstitutionen und Künstler.
  • Pilgerrequisiten

    Pilgerrequisiten

    Ansammlung der KPR-2 Spuren