Kunstpilgerreise 3

Kunstpilgerreise 3 (KPR-3) will see Marinka Limat journeying from Kassel to Athens in 2017: her performance will establish a physical connection between the twin locations of “Documenta14”. Her focus will be the question of the art that arises between these two centres.

Kunstpilgerreise 3 is the longest and most ambitious project that Marinka Limat has undertaken in her artistic career to date. It will take 163 days and cover 2500km across nine countries. The starting point is Kassel, the home of the Documenta art exhibition, while the destination is Athens, the cradle of western culture. Throughout the entire duration of Documenta14, which in 2017 is taking place in two different locations for the first time, Marinka Limat will be en route between the two, joining them together with her footsteps. The route will lead her across Eastern Europe and the Balkans, from one place of artistic interest to another.

 

Encounters are at the heart of Marinka Limat’s project. They provide the basis, and in such moments the artwork can emerge. This is fleeting, direct, spontaneous and unrepeatable. Being present in the moments of encounter with a wide variety of people is what constitutes Marinka Limat’s performative work. She exposes herself to the strange and unknown, and chooses an open and direct setting to do so: the pilgrimage.

 

Pilgrimage is a well-known format practised in various religions. Marinka Limat transfers it from the religious to the artistic context. Making her way by foot to a “Mecca of Art”, she investigates the attraction that this place exerts. In the institutions that she visits en route, she asks for “blessings” in the name of Art, while the stations on her journey are stamped in the pilgrim’s passport she carries with her.

 

KPR-3: Kassel, DEAthens, GR, 2500 km, 163 days, 2017

The Kunstpilgerreise 3 will start on 8 april 2017 in Kassel and end on 17 September in the Athens Acropolis. The route will lead from Germany across Eastern Europe (Czech Republic, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary) and through the Balkans (Serbia, Kosovo, Macedonia).

Reisetagebuch

Traces

  • Video Crowdfunding

    Anyone who is not able to take part in Kunstpilgerreise 3 will have the opportunity to experience the project later. Video material will be used to produce a documentary, recording Marinka Limat on the trail of art. The film’s production costs were met in February 2017 through a successful crowdfunding campaign that raised 10 000 Swiss francs. Funding applications have already been made for post-production (winter 2017/18).

     

    Presentation crowdfunding, january 2017

    Info

    Documentary, full HD video, French/German, English subtitles. Scheduled release: Beginning of 2018.

    Credits

Kunstpilgerreise 3

Die Kunstpilgerreise 3 (KPR-3) führt Marinka Limat 2017 von Kassel nach Athen: Sie stellt mit der Performance eine physische Verbindung her zwischen den beiden Standorten der "Documenta14". Im Fokus wird die Frage nach der Kunst stehen, die zwischen diesen beiden Zentren geschieht.

Die Kunstpilgerreise 3 ist das längste und aufwändigste Projekt, das Marinka Limat in ihrer bisherigen künstlerischen Tätigkeit unternommen hat. Sie dauert 163 Tage und führt über 2500 km durch 9 Länder. Ausgangspunkt ist Kassel, die Heimat der Kunstausstellung Documenta, das Reiseziel Athen, Ursprung abendländischer Kultur. Während der gesamten Dauer der Documenta14, die 2017 erstmals an zwei Orten stattfindet, wird Marinka Limat zwischen diesen beiden unterwegs sein und sie mit ihrer Spur verbinden. Die Route führt über Osteuropa und auf dem Balkan von Kunstort zu Kunstort.

 

Die Begegnungen stehen im Zentrum von Marinka Limats Projekt. Sie sind die Basis, in diesen Momenten kann das Kunstwerk entstehen. Dieses ist flüchtig, direkt, spontan und nicht wiederholbar. In den Momenten der Begegnung mit den unterschiedlichsten Leuten präsent zu sein, ist Marinka Limats performative Arbeit. Sie setzt sich dem Fremden und Unbekannten aus, indem sie dafür ein offenes und direktes Setting wählt: die Pilgerreise. 

 

Das Pilgern ist ein bekanntes Format, das in verschiedenen Religionen praktiziert wird. Marinka Limat überträgt es aus dem religiösen in den Kunstkontext. Unterwegs zu Fuss zu einem «Kunstmekka» untersucht sie dessen Anziehungskraft. Bei den Institutionen, die sie unterwegs besucht, bittet sie um „Segnungen“ im Namen der Kunst, und sie lässt sich die Stationen der Reise im mitgeführten Pilgerpass bestätigen. 

KPR-3: Kassel, DEAthens, GR, 2500 km, 163 Tage, 2017

Die Kunstpilgerreise 3 beginnt am 8. April 2017 in Kassel und endet am 17. September in Athen auf der Akropolis. Der Weg führt durch Deutschland über Osteuropa (Tschechien, Österreich, Slowakei, Ungarn) und auf der Balkanroute (Serbien, Kosovo, Mazedonien) nach Griechenland.

Reisetagebuch

Spuren

  • Video Crowdfunding

    Alle, die nicht auf der Kunstpilgerreise 3 mit dabei sein können, sollen die Möglichkeit erhalten, das Projekt nacherleben zu können. Aus dem Videomaterial soll ein Dokumentarfilm entstehen, der festhält, wie Marinka Limat unterwegs der Kunst nachspürt. Die Produktionskosten des Filmes wurden im Februar 2017 erfolgreich mit einer Crowdfounding-Kampagne über CHF 10'000.– co-finanziert. Für die Postproduktion (Winter 2017/18) sind Förderanträge gestellt.

    Projektpräsentation Crowdfunding Kampagne, Januar 2017

    Info

    Dokumentation, Video Full HD, französisch/deutsch, englische Untertitel. Geplante Veröffentlichung: Anfang 2018.

    Mitwirkende