Kunstpilgerreise 2

In autumn 2015 Marinka Limat started her second “Kunstpilgerreise”. She walked from Murten in Switzerland to Venice in Italy for the Biennale 2015. On her way there she visited more than 80 art institutions and questioned them about the capital of art.

For the destination of her second “Kunstpilgerreise”, Marinka Limat chose the 56th Venice Biennale. Every second year since 1895, this has made Venice the international capital of the contemporary art scene. This was also the focus of the question Marinka Limat put to institutions and artists on the way: “What is the capital of the arts?” She took the answers with her, sewn into her pilgrim’s garb, and recited them on 21st November, 2015, at the entrance to the Giardini.

 

The challenge posed by the second Kunstpilgerreise involved crossing the Alps by the Via Francigena, (the St Francis Way) over the Great St Bernard Pass, late in the year and in uncertain weather conditions. Then there was the language: at the beginning of her journey, Marinka Limat’s command of Italian was not good. Nonetheless she was able to carry out her plan to find a local artist, each time that she stopped to pitch her tent for the night.

 

In addition, the journey through Northern Italy made clear for Marinka Limat the parallels between art and religion: both are hard to grasp, but marked by set rituals and structures. They go beyond understanding and touch something deeper. Something which binds. Even if you don’t speak the same language.

KPR-2: Murten, CHVenice, IT, 832 km, 41 days, 2015

Kunstpilgerreise 2 lasted from 28th September to 9th November, 2015. The journey led across the Alps, over the Great St Bernard Pass, through the Aosta and Piedmont valleys, and towards Venice via the plains of the River Po.

Impressionen

Traces

  • Footage

    Marinka Limat recorded also her second „Kunstpilgerreise“ as a video travel diary. The material contains some key moments of the journey: the encounters with the artists and impressions of the march through the Alps and northern Italy. It may be edited at a later date.

    Info

    Music: Anton Bruhin (jew’s harp), Jacky Lagger (guitar, vocals)
    Editing: Cornelia Albrecht

     

  • Pilgrim's garb

    Pilgrim's garb

    Pilgrim's garb with 80 answers to the question "What is the capital of art (worth)?"
  • Pilgrim's hat

    Pilgrim's hat

    The sign „K“ is for Kapital, Kunst, Kreation, Korruption, Kommunikation, etc. (capital/worth, art, creation, corruption, communication)
  • Cardboard

    Cardboard

    Description of the performative aim. Used by the arrival in Venice
  • Mask

    Mask

    A last performance happend at the arrival in Venice. The 80 answers were read to an audience three times. The venetian mask represents this moment
  • Pilgrim's passport

    Pilgrim's passport

    The two notebooks contain the dates, the places and the signatures of over 80 visited center of arts and artists
  • Pilgrim requisits

    Pilgrim requisits

    Pilgrim accessories from KPR-2

Kunstpilgerreise 2

Durant l’automne 2015 Marinka se mit en chemin depuis Morat pour atteindre la Biennale de Venise. La question «Quel est le capital de l’Art ?» servit de fil rouge pour ce voyage à travers les Alpes et l’Italie du Nord, question posée à plus de 80 indigènes travaillant dans le domaine artistique.

Marinka Limat choisit en effet la 56ème Biennale artistique de Venise comme destination de sa deuxième Kunstpilgerreise. Cette manifestation fait de la Cité des Doges depuis 1895 la capitale internationale de l’art contemporain, raison pour laquelle Marinka Limat trouva approprié de poser dans les institutions visitées ainsi qu’aux artistes «What’s the capital of the arts?» («Quel est le capital /quelle est la capitale/ de l‘art?»). La performeuse inséra les réponses obtenues dans sa tunique pour les déclamer le 21 novembre à l’entrée des Giardini de Venise.


La traversée des Alpes par la Via Francigéna (voie franciscaine) et empruntant le col du Grand-St. Bernard, cela en fin d’automne, fut exigeante, les conditions météorologiques incertaines représentant certains risques. Vinrent s’ajouter les difficultés linguistiques, Marinka ne parlant au départ pas l’italien. Elle put malgré tout réaliser son projet et obtenir chaque soir chez des artistes, un petit coin pour planter sa tente. 


Ce voyage à travers l’Italie du Nord a permis à Marinka Limat de mieux comprendre quelques parallèles entre l’art et la religion; deux systèmes créés par l’homme, deux formes d’expression qui entendent rendre perceptible ce qui est pourtant si difficilement cernable; deux éléments imprégnés de rites et structures strictes qui dépassent la raison et qui touchent l’être dans sa profondeur. Une force qui rapproche les êtres humains, sans que l’usage d’une langue commune soit pour autant nécessaire.

KPR-2: Murten, CHVenice, IT, 832 km, 41 jours, 2015

La deuxième Kunstpilgerreise a duré du 28 septembre au 9 novembre 2015, un chemin à travers les Alpes par le col du Grand-St. Bernard, le val d’Aoste, le Piémont, la plaine du Po jusqu’à Venise.

Impressions

Reliques

  • Aperçu

    Ce deuxième pèlerinage fut aussi immortalisé dans un carnet de route filmé, des images relatant les moments clefs du voyage: les rencontres avec les artistes ainsi que les impressions alpestres et automnales de l’Italie du Nord. La postproduction est prévue ultérieurement.

    Infos

    Musique: Anton Bruhin (guimbarde), Jacky Lagger (guitare, voix)
    Montage: Cornelia Albrecht

  • Manteau de pélerin

    Manteau de pélerin

    Manteau de pèlerin avec 80 réponses sur la question «Quel est le capital de l’art?»
  • Chapeau de pèlerin

    Chapeau de pèlerin

    Le signe "K" symbolise les termes "Kapital, Kunst, Kreation, Korruption, Kommunikation" (capital, art, création, corruption, communication, etc.)
  • Carton

    Carton

    Description de la démarche de la performance. Utilisée lors de l'arrivée à Venise
  • Masque

    Masque

    Une dernière performance se déroula à l'arrivée à Venise. Les 80 réponses récoltées ont été lues et présentées à trois moments. Le masque vénitien représente ce moment
  • Passeport de pèlerin

    Passeport de pèlerin

    Les deux carnets contiennent les dates, les lieux et les signatures des 80 institutions d'art, culturelles et artistes visités
  • Reliques du pèlerinage

    Reliques du pèlerinage

    Accessoires du pèlerinage KPR-2