Kunstpilgerreise 3

Kunstpilgerreise 3 (KPR-3) will see Marinka Limat journeying from Kassel to Athens in 2017: her performance will establish a physical connection between the twin locations of “Documenta14”. Her focus will be the question of the art that arises between these two centres.

Kunstpilgerreise 3 is the longest and most ambitious project that Marinka Limat has undertaken in her artistic career to date. It will take 163 days and cover 2500km across nine countries. The starting point is Kassel, the home of the Documenta art exhibition, while the destination is Athens, the cradle of western culture. Throughout the entire duration of Documenta14, which in 2017 is taking place in two different locations for the first time, Marinka Limat will be en route between the two, joining them together with her footsteps. The route will lead her across Eastern Europe and the Balkans, from one place of artistic interest to another.

 

Encounters are at the heart of Marinka Limat’s project. They provide the basis, and in such moments the artwork can emerge. This is fleeting, direct, spontaneous and unrepeatable. Being present in the moments of encounter with a wide variety of people is what constitutes Marinka Limat’s performative work. She exposes herself to the strange and unknown, and chooses an open and direct setting to do so: the pilgrimage.

 

Pilgrimage is a well-known format practised in various religions. Marinka Limat transfers it from the religious to the artistic context. Making her way by foot to a “Mecca of Art”, she investigates the attraction that this place exerts. In the institutions that she visits en route, she asks for “blessings” in the name of Art, while the stations on her journey are stamped in the pilgrim’s passport she carries with her.

 

KPR-3: Kassel, DEAthens, GR, 2500 km, 163 days, 2017

The Kunstpilgerreise 3 will start on 8 april 2017 in Kassel and end on 17 September in the Athens Acropolis. The route will lead from Germany across Eastern Europe (Czech Republic, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary) and through the Balkans (Serbia, Kosovo, Macedonia).

Reisetagebuch

Traces

  • Video Crowdfunding

    Anyone who is not able to take part in Kunstpilgerreise 3 will have the opportunity to experience the project later. Video material will be used to produce a documentary, recording Marinka Limat on the trail of art. The film’s production costs were met in February 2017 through a successful crowdfunding campaign that raised 10 000 Swiss francs. Funding applications have already been made for post-production (winter 2017/18).

     

    Presentation crowdfunding, january 2017

    Info

    Documentary, full HD video, French/German, English subtitles. Scheduled release: Beginning of 2018.

    Credits

Kunstpilgerreise 3

La «Kunstpilgerreise 3» (KPR-3) mène Marinka Limat en 2017 de Kassel à Athènes: elle crée grâce à cette performance un lien physique entre les deux sites de la «Documenta14» et se focalise sur l’art généré entre ces deux centres artistiques.

La Kunstpilgerreise 3 est le projet le plus exigeant et le plus ambitieux de tous ceux que Marinka Limat a réalisés au cours de sa jeune carrière artistique. Il dure 163 jours et s’étend sur 2500 km parcourant 9 pays. Le point de départ est Kassel, l’emplacement de l’exposition artistique de la Documenta, alors que l’aboutissement est Athènes, un des berceaux de la culture occidentale. Durant toute la durée de la Documenta14 – qui en 2017 se tiendra pour la première fois conjointement sur deux sites, à Kassel et à Athènes précisément – Marinka Limat se trouvera entre les deux lieux et, de par sa démarche à pied, leur servira de trait d’union. Le pèlerinage la conduira à travers l’Europe de l’Est et les Balkans, d’un point de départ empreint d’intérêt artistique pour rejoindre un autre site tout aussi représentatif.


Les rencontres sont au cœur du projet de Marinka Limat. Ils en forment le fondement d’où se crée l’œuvre artistique. Ces moments sont éphémères, directs, spontanés et ne peuvent être répétés. Le présent et le caractère unique de ces moments de rencontre, partagés avec une grande diversité de personnage, est l’essence même de l’approche performative de Marinka Limat. Elle s’expose à l’étranger et à l’inconnu tout en choisissant pour cela un format ouvert et direct, à savoir le pèlerinage.


Le pèlerinage est une forme usuelle pratiquée dans diverses religions. Marinka Limat la transpose d’un contexte religieux dans un contexte artistique. Elle se rend à pied vers une «Mecque de l’art» et y étudie le pouvoir d’attraction qu’exerce ce site. Dans les diverses institutions qu’elle visite durant son pèlerinage, elle demande une «bénédiction» au nom de l’art. Aussi, les différents lieux visités lors de son pèlerinage sont attestés au moyen d’un sceau apposé dans un carnet de route.

KPR-3: Kassel, DEAthens, GR, 2500 km, 163 jours, 2017

La performance débute le 8 avril 2017 au pied de la statue d'Hercules à la Wilhelmshöhe à Kassel pour se terminer le 17 septembre au Parthénon de l’Acropole à Athènes. La route mène de l’Allemagne à travers l’Europe orientale (Tchéquie, Autriche, Slovaquie, Hongrie) et les Balkans (Serbie, Kosovo, Macédoine).

Vestiges

  • Video Crowdfunding

    Ceux qui ne peuvent pas participer à la Kunstpilgerreise 3 auront la possibilité d’assister au projet ultérieurement. Du matériel vidéo sera utilisé pour la réalisation d’un film documentaire qui capte comment Marinka Limat repère l'art en chemin. Les coûts de production du film sont couverts grâce à une campagne de Crowdfunding achevée avec succès au mois de février 2017, démarche qui a rapporté la somme de 10‘000 CHF. Afin d’assurer la phase de postproduction (hiver 2017/18), des demandes de soutien ont d’ores et déjà été lancées.

    Présentation du projet lors de la campagne crowdfunding, janvier 2017

    Infos

    Documentation, Video Full HD, français/allemand avec sous-titres en anglais. Publication prévu: Début 2018

    Contributeurs